SuperSport United will play in their seventh cup final in the space of just under four years later this month, so are they the new Cup Kings of South Africa?

Matsatsantsa have won all three of Mzansi’s domestic cups – the MTN8, Telkom Knockout and Nedbank Cup – since 2014, with the Absa Premiership the only one missing from their locker in recent years having last clinched that back in 2010.

Though their league form has been indifferent, the club’s ability to reach, and win, cup finals have been incredibly impressive in recent years, winning trophies under Gordon Igesund, Stuart Baxter and Eric Tinkler, with Kaitano Tembo hoping to add his name to that list on September 29th.

SuperSport’s Recent Cup Finals…
2014 TKO – Winner
2016 TKO – Runner-up
2016 Nedbank Cup – Winner
2017 MTN8 – Winner
2017 Nedbank Cup – Winner
2017 CAF Confederation Cup – Runner-up
2018 MTN8 – TBD…
In that same time period, Mamelodi Sundowns have won two domestic cups, while Orlando Pirates and Kaizer Chiefs haven’t won any. The likes of Cape Town City, Bidvest Wits and Free State Stars have all managed to lift at least one trophy since then, but SSU have been by far the most successful.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.